Today's Special: Tight Butt

C'est Juice! Freshly Squeezed by Missy Kia

02.27.07

Stretching & Tightening

I know a number of fellow losers have had problems with shin splints. Recently I've found myself having some increasing pain in my calves when I'm walking and while stretching out prior to exercising, increasing my potassium and drinking plenty of water have helped, it wasn't "enough." But then I realized that I wasn't walking right. Instead of making my calves do all the work, like doing abdominal crunches where people tend to use their neck, shoulders and upper arms to help thrust their body up off the mat, I wasn't using my glutes to pull my legs up off the ground. I found that if I focus on stretching my weight bearing leg out from the heel instead of the toe and pull with my glutes nice and tight, I don't have that pain for more than a moment or two. I call it my "oops! I forgot" moment. Great Kegel exercise too!

Another thing I'm up against is finding the right shoes. I have the beginnings of "hammer toe" and have seen my mother go through two excruciating surgeries and she still has toes that cross over one another as if she's constantly crossing her toes. She has to wear open toed shoes which makes it embarrassing (and to me, absolutely freaky bizarre) My health care practitioner suggested wearing backless shoes that requires me to flex my toes in order to keep my shoes on and wants me to avoid pointed-toe shoes. I have those 3/4 kind of slip-on tennis shoes and frequently wear gardening clogs and regular clogs in the winter, flip-flops in the summer. But when it comes to walking, I need a closed shoe only I find that they really do a number on my toes and I'm aching something fierce. I even developed a blister that appears to have been caused by the toes rubbing against one another and pushing one down further into the top of my shoe. I'd go to a deck shoe, but the support is crap. Guess I'll have to break down and hit a real shoe store here. I tend to like Payless Shoe Source, Wal-Mart and K-Mart but if I want to avoid the orthopedic shop, Foot Locker here I come.

Joy.

So tell me, what do you know [ ]?

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size: 180 lbs
Servings Per Container: 1.10

Total Fat (loss)

-01.0 lbs

Total Fat (remains)

019.0 lbs

Beginning Weight

198.0 lbs

Goal Weight

180.0 lbs

Current Weight

199.0 lbs

Miss These?
b.a.k.
Bad Girl, No Biscuit
Tight Butt
Could be Good, Could be Bad
Bubble Gum

< put de limes in de coconuts >
and shake it all up!
Voila! Smoothie!

Dishing

The Daily Squeeze

Me Other Blog
Take My Cool Quiz!

b.a.k.
Bad Girl, No Biscuit
Tight Butt
Could be Good, Could be Bad
Bubble Gum

Just Peachy

Kira
Keri
Ginger
Sheri
Sheryl

Jilbur
Mindy
Jenny
Michele

Sweet Unique Stars

Chubby Mum
Jenn
Diva
Queen
Holly
NT

Sarah
SwirlGirl
Jessica
Sarah: MTL
Rebeka

Blender and Pantry

the main squeeze
recipe cards
wheatgrass special

1 . 2 . 3 . 4
quality produce
marketing
dumpster

treats
nutritional info
reduction plan

product guide
facts
eat right
exercise

The Alley

Rings
host
weightloss< ? >
lose weight< ? >
losing weight < ? >
lost weight< ? >
thin to win< ? >
skinny< ? >
fat to fit< ? >
healthylivin< ? >
exercise< ? >
walking< ? >