Today's Special: Missy Knows Quite a Bit!

C'est Juice! Freshly Squeezed by Missy Kia

01.12.05

Hi!
I'm Missy.

Well, Missy isn't my real name. My son often calls me "Missy." And as far as the title? Well, whenever I become empassioned about something, I tend to come off as a know-it-all, or so my husband claims. More on that a bit later.

Age: 41
Gender: female
Marital Status: Married
Children: Twin boys, grade school age
Occupation: Writer/Illustrator
Location: No. California

Goal/Purpose of This Diary: I wanted a place to record my weight loss, become a part of a supportive community and have a public (yet somewhat annonymous) diary that would hold me more accountable.

Weight Loss vs. Behavior Management This is where I become the "know-it-all." Hold on to your panties! I've surfed through many Diaryland diaries that are tracking personal weight loss and frankly, it scares the hell of me there are so many people out there that are doing really bad things to their bodies just so they can get "thin." To me, weight loss is best achieved with behavior modification. Sure, you can starve yourself, work yourself to death with exercises and frequent trips to the gym, but when you finally achieve your goal, how long will you stay there? Hey, after battling the bulge as long as I have? It's a lesson I've learned the hard way! Gotta change that behavior if you're going to achieve -- and maintain -- a healthy lifestyle.

I'm not perfect. Far from it! I did phen/fen. Paid through the nose to get the assurance years later I didn't screw up my body permanently. Scared me pretty bad for those few months where I hung in the balance wondering if this was "it". I've done Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, hypnosis, that icky St. John's fake hospital diet (with the cabbage soup), Slim Fast and many other diets. Yo-yo. When I did take off the weight, and kept it off ('til the youngsters came in and whacked me out of shape), it was safe and healthy. So I know that I have to do it that way this time if it's going to stay off.

There are other issues as well. But I'm not going to get into that now. Before you go, keep in mind I'm not a medical professional. This diary is not to be misconstrued as medical advice and no, silly, you cannot hold me liable. You see it everywhere, but let me repeat, before starting a diet, consult your doctor first.

Thanks for stopping by!

|

Miss These?
b.a.k.
Bad Girl, No Biscuit
Tight Butt
Could be Good, Could be Bad
Bubble Gum

< put de limes in de coconuts >
and shake it all up!
Voila! Smoothie!

Dishing

The Daily Squeeze

Me Other Blog
Take My Cool Quiz!

b.a.k.
Bad Girl, No Biscuit
Tight Butt
Could be Good, Could be Bad
Bubble Gum

Just Peachy

Kira
Keri
Ginger
Sheri
Sheryl

Jilbur
Mindy
Jenny
Michele

Sweet Unique Stars

Chubby Mum
Jenn
Diva
Queen
Holly
NT

Sarah
SwirlGirl
Jessica
Sarah: MTL
Rebeka

Blender and Pantry

the main squeeze
recipe cards
wheatgrass special

1 . 2 . 3 . 4
quality produce
marketing
dumpster

treats
nutritional info
reduction plan

product guide
facts
eat right
exercise

The Alley

Rings
host
weightloss< ? >
lose weight< ? >
losing weight < ? >
lost weight< ? >
thin to win< ? >
skinny< ? >
fat to fit< ? >
healthylivin< ? >
exercise< ? >
walking< ? >